September 11 – A Reflection from My Little Corner of the World

September 11 - A Reflection from My Little Corner of the World

September 11 – A Reflection from My Little Corner of the World

This was the view from my desktop today as I worked from home.  Just like countless others across the world, this anniversary takes me back to that tragic day.  I was torn with the idea of writing about it, partially because I can’t contribute anything that hasn’t been said before.  Also because I don’t like to give power to those who were behind, or who supported the attack.  In the end, I had to take a moment to reflect, as those first responders and victims deserve that remembrance in our hearts and minds.

One thing I would like to share, is just a small memory (as we each have our unique memories and feelings) that I have of my son who was not yet 4 years old at the time.  Now perhaps having a mother who works in the airline industry, he had a heightened awareness through me (although we tried to shield him from the news).  A couple of days later, I took him to the park and zoo.

Airport sign

Airport sign

On our way there, he spotted the green sign with an airplane symbol, indicating the direction of the airport.  He said “Airplane?  But there’s no airplanes in the sky…no airplanes at all.”  Such a perceptive statement from someone so young and innocent.  It brings tears to my eyes to this very day.  In my heart, I hope that we will always appreciate the freedoms that we have, down to the very smallest detail.  I hope that we will always remember those first responders, military men and women and their families who make these freedoms possible for us.  As I see the American flag flying in front of our home today, I’m thankful for a husband who has instilled in our son, and strengthened in me, a deep reverence for our flag, our country, and our freedom.  May we ever deserve, appreciate and honor all that we have in this great land of ours.

Our Flag

Our Flag

Leave a Reply

